SQSS – Individuals Recognised

Individuals can continue to be considered a ‘Suitably Qualified Security Specialist’ (SQSS) for the purposes of compliance with HEA 06 (1 credit – Security of Site and Building) where adherence to the SQSS criteria 1-3, detailed below and in HEA 06, is evidenced to the BREEAM Assessor.

  1. Minimum of three years’ experience in a relevant security profession (in the last five years). This experience must clearly demonstrate a practical understanding of factors affecting security in relation to construction and the built environment, relevant to the type and scale of the project being undertaken.
  2. Holds a qualification relevant to security.
  3. Maintains a full membership to a relevant professional body, institute or certification scheme that has a professional code of conduct, to which members adhere.

Alternatively, individuals can be considered a ‘Suitably Qualified Security Specialist’ where adherence to the SQSS criterion 4 (detailed below and in HEA 06) is demonstrated to the BREEAM Assessor.

  1. A specialist registered with a BREEAM recognised third party licensing or registration scheme for security specialists.

The following licensing/registration schemes are recognised as meeting the requirements of criterion 4 of the Suitably Qualified Security Specialist (SQSS) criteria. As such, individuals listed are also eligible to perform the role of SQSS:

A. SABRE Registered Professionals with ‘SQSS’ status – Live list here

B. Chartered Security Professionals (CSyP) – Live list here

C. Register of Security Engineers and Specialists (RSES) ‘General Security Advisor’ (GSA) – Live list here


Note: DOCOs can be considered as suitably qualified subject to meeting criteria 1-3 and regional police forces may provide services in support of BREEAM. However, the Metropolitan Police has indicated that it will not provide services solely for the purposes of meeting the BREEAM Security Needs Assessment (SNA).


In all cases, Notes 1 and 2, below, shall apply to the appointment of the SQSS and the award of the available credit respectively.


  1. Security professionals often possess knowledge and skills in relation to specific aspects of the discipline, whilst others may possess more holistic knowledge. Therefore, when appointing an SQSS, consideration should also be given to their experience and background, as well as the appropriateness of the individual to carry out the task assigned. The SQSS should be able to demonstrate independence and that they have experience dealing with similar projects with comparable security levels and risks.
  2. Irrespective of who performs the role of SQSS, the 1 credit available for ‘Security of Site and Building’ may only be awarded if the assessment criteria are satisfied i.e. where a compliant, documented Security Needs Assessment (SNA) has been produced and subsequent risk-commensurate security recommendations have been implemented.


SABRE Registered Professional
SABRE Registered Professionals are deemed to meet the competency requirements of the various specialist deliverables within the SABRE security assessment scheme including: threat assessments, risk assessments, security strategies, technical design & engineering and concepts of operations (CONOPS). The registration is also intended to act as an indicator of professionalism for the benefit of the wider industry.

Chartered Security Professional (CSyP)
The Register of Chartered Security Professionals (CSyP) was established under a Royal Charter granted to the Worshipful Company of Security Professionals in the UK and launched in 2011. Registrants use CSyP as a post nominal. Being admitted to the Register and becoming a CSyP is a means of being recognised and continuing to represent the highest standards and ongoing proficiency. It is the gold standard of competence in security practice. CSyPs must comply with a Code of Conduct, a Professional Disciplinary Code, and also complete Continuous Professional Development each year. The Register is recognised across the UK, including by the Association of Security Consultants (ASC), the International Professional Security Association (IPSA), The Security Industry Authority (SIA) and CPNI (Centre for the Protection of National Infrastructure).

Register of Security Engineers and Specialists (RSES)
The Register of Security Engineers and Specialists (RSES) was established to promote excellence in security engineering by providing a benchmark of professional quality against which its members have been independently assessed. Registration is open to engineers, applied scientists and specialists who apply their knowledge to securing the built environment and infrastructure. RSES is sponsored by the Centre for the Protection of National Infrastructure (CPNI) and administered by the Institution of Civil Engineers’ (ICE) Membership Division.

04 Aug 2023 - Additional paragraph added to clarify that, if a DOCO is willing and able to do so, they can undertake the role of SQSS for BREEAM, provided they meet the eligibility criteria set out in criteria 1-3
15 Jul/07 Sep 2022 - Reference to DOCOs' suitability to perform the role of SQSS under Option 4.D. removed - The Metropolitan Police has indicated that DOCOs will not provide a consultation service solely for the purposes of meeting the BREEAM Security Needs Assessment (SNA). 
10 Dec 2021 - Further clarification added
17 Nov 2021 - First paragraph updated for clarity